Wigeon Publishing


Award Winner

Murder Survivor’s Handbook Wins IBPA’s Benjamin Franklin Gold Award

April 15, 2015

SAN DIEGO, Calif.—Murder Survivor's Handbook: Real-Life Stories, Tips & Resources has received a prestigious Gold Award in the 2015 Benjamin Franklin book awards competition sponsored by the Independent Book Publishers Association.
Murder Survivor's Handbook: Real-life Stories, Tips & Resources
The nonfiction book, authored by Connie Saindon, MFT, and published by Wigeon Publishing (2014), took top honors in the Self-Help category. IBPA officials announced the winners on April 10 during a ceremony held in conjunction with the organization’s Publishing University in Austin, Texas.

The book includes contributions from survivors—the co-victims of murder— who describe their own experiences and, through their tips and suggestions, lend a helping hand to those who follow in their footsteps.
Murder Survivor's Handbook: Real-life Stories, Tips & Resources
“This is indeed a deeply heartfelt honor for all of the broken hearts and wisdom that contributed to this one-of-a-kind book,” Saindon said. “The commitment was clear and intentional.”

Saindon’s professional as well as personal experience have given her a unique perspective that few others have. Not only did she learn first-hand about criminal death, she learned that she is a Survivor in every sense of the word following the murder of her younger sister, Tiny. She is the founder of the Survivors of Violent Loss Program in San Diego and a nationally recognized specialist in violent death bereavement.
Murder Survivor's Handbook: Real-life Stories, Tips & Resources
“Everyone, survivors and professionals, involved in this book wanted more resources than were available for those who lose someone to murder and to better equip those who work with them,” Saindon added. “The Gold Award acknowledges this, and the recognition will aid in getting this book into the hands of those who will benefit from it.”

Murder Survivor’s Handbook provides information, resources, and strategies for learning to live with the aftermath of a homicide, including safety issues, dealing with the criminal justice system, addressing the news media, and coping with traumatic grief, while preserving the memory of a loved one.

It has been endorsed by a number of mental health and crimnal justice professionals, as well as survivors, nationwide.

The book is distributed by Ingram and may be purchased at Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble online, and through traditional retail outlets.

Larry Edwards and Connie Saindon with Murder Survivor's Handbook: Real-life Stories, Tips & Resources and IBPA Trophy
Larry Edwards, editor and publisher, and Connie Saindon, author.

This is Wigeon’s second award winner. Dare I Call It Murder: A Memoir of Violent Loss, won the top honor for Best Published Memoir from the San Diego Book Awards in 2014, and it was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize.

Wigeon released its fifth book, What the Private Saw: The Civil War Letters & Diaries of Oney Foster Sweet, on April 9, 2015. It debuted as a #1 Hot New Release and #1 best seller in Amazon.com’s Civil War biographies category.

Wigeon will release the second edition of Saindon’s The Journey: Learning to Live with Violent Death, in September 2015.

Also in the Wigeon pipeline: The Greatest Cattle Drive: California to Oregon, 1837 — a dramatization of the diary of Philip L. Edwards. It is slated for release in 2016.

About Wigeon Publishing
Wigeon Publishing is a small press based in San Diego, Calif., and a member of the Independent Book Publishers Association. To learn more, visit: www.wigeonpublishing.com.

For more information, contact:

Larry Edwards

    Copyright © 2010-, Wigeon Publishing